Auction in progress, bid now! Weekly Auction ends Monday January 25!

Calling All Boys (1946) comic books

  • Issue #1
    Calling All Boys (1946) 1
    • Cover detached.

    Photo cover. Stories and art by George J. Hecht, Charles Strong, J. Edgar Hoover, Sam Glankoff, Charles Voight, Frances Fowler Allen, Stephen R. Strong, Frank Elkins, Sandy Sergeant, Cliff Carpenter, Terry Crawford, David C. Cooke, Edd Ashe, Ed Lawson and Jack Sparling. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. Dig Bailey, the youngest tugboat captain in the harbor, rescues a man from a waterfront fire; Dusty Davis accidentally becomes a participant while watching a ski-jump competition; An article by FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover describes how boys can help police solve crimes. Calling All Boys; The Secret of Bald Head Mountain; A Champion Gets Crowned; You Can Help; Hook, Line and Sinker; Behind the Mike; Boys in the News; Passage to Freedom; Let's Talk It Over; Fun on Skis; Winter Warm-Ups; Hobby Corner; Movies You'll Like; Make It Yourself; What's New in the Air; Flight Talk; Magic Tricks; Champions All; The Perverse Pigeon; Clothing for Courage. 56 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.

  • Issue #4
    Calling All Boys (1946) 4

    Stories and art by Walter Gibson, Jim Kjelgaard, Charles Strong, Ralph Crosby Smith, Charles Spain Verral, Dick Kraus, Alfred de Martini, Ed Lawson and Jack Sparling. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. Dig Bailey's tugboat crew investigates mysterious fires on ships in the bay; Dusty Davis goes fishing with his dad and brother; A comics biography of famed baseball pitcher "Dizzy" Dean. Also featuring magic tricks explained by Walter Gibson, better known as "Maxwell Grant," author of The Shadow's pulp adventures. Peril Outpost; Dig Bailey: The Mystery of the "Scorched Decks"; Lucky Shoes; Shot in the Dark; "Dizzy" Dean, Baseball's Hottest Hurler; First Date; Dusty Davis Goes Fishing; Let's Talk It Over; The Secret of Baldhead Mountain. 56 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.

  • Issue #9
    Calling All Boys (1946) 9

    Cover by Ralph Smith. Stories and art by Theodore Sturgeon, Al Capp, Walter Gibson, Victor Mallery, Hal Goodwin, Alfred de Martini, Stephen R. Strong, Ed Smalle, Richard Kraus, Arthur Todd, Ralph Smith, Ken Crosby, Franc Ladner, John Dagrosa, Ernie Schroeder, Riff Daley, and Jack Sparling. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. "Smoke!", an early short story by noted science fiction author Theodore Sturgeon; A profile of "Li'l Abner" cartoonist Al Capp; Dusty Davis seeks the funds to get a Christmas gift for Susie. Also featuring magic tricks explained by Walter Gibson, better known as "Maxwell Grant," author of The Shadow's pulp adventures. Miracle Quarterback; Sons of the Thunderer; Smoke!; Magic Tricks; Get Lined Up for Winter Sports; Boys in the News; Coach's Corner; Let's Talk It Over; The Story of Al Capp; Slinging Soph; King of Hobbies; Quizzing All Boys; Gifts on the Ball for Boys; Platter Parade; Junior Red Cross; Stars of the West; Good Grooming; Dusty Davis; In the Science World; The Adventures of Bigbrain Billy. 48 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.

  • Issue #12
    Calling All Boys (1946) 12

    Stories and art by Jack Sparling, Bucky Harris, Ed Smalle, Clem Philbrook, Sam Glankoff, Ernie Schroeder, and Vic Herman. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. A comics adaptation of the Bob Hope-Dorothy Lamour film classic My Favorite Brunette; Famed baseball manager Bucky Harris takes over the Coachs Corner column; Bigbrain Billy is stranded on the ice after winning a trip to Antarctica. Tex Granger; Hector; Flailing Flukes; My Favorite Brunette; Streaky Smith of Essex High; Coachs Corner; The Adventures of Bigbrain Billy. 32 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.

  • Issue #13
    Calling All Boys (1946) 13
    • Water damage.

    Stories and art by Robert Kiphuth, Jim Chapman, Ernie Schroeder, and Vic Herman. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. A profile of Hollywood legend Bing Crosby; An adaptation of the 1947 film Perils of Pauline, about pioneering movie stuntwoman Pearl White; "Bigbrain Billy," the smartest boy in the world, uses science to track the robbers of Midvale's city treasury. Boys' Hero of the Month: Bing Crosby; Tex Granger; Hector; Perils of Pauline; You're a Magician; Streaky Smith of Essex High Races Against Death; High Swamp; Coachs Corner; The Adventures of Bigbrain Billy. 32 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.

  • Issue #16
    Calling All Boys (1946) 16

    Stories and art by Warren L. Royer, Ernie Schroeder, and Vic Herman. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. A profile of future US president Dwight Eisenhower; Tugboat captain Dig Bailey discovers saboteurs who want to destroy an underwater tunnel; "Bigbrain Billy," tries to prevent a comet from decimating a human colony on Jupiter. Boys' Hero of the Month: General "Ike" Eisenhower; Tex Granger; Hector; Skyscraper on Skis!; Tournament; Coachs Corner; Dig Bailey: Sandhog Sabotage; The Adventures of Bigbrain Billy. 32 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.

  • Issue #17
    Calling All Boys (1946) 17

    Stories and art by Ted Knoles, Edd Ashe, Ernie Schroeder, and Vic Herman. Another kids' anthology in the tradition of Calling All Girls and Calling All Kids from the publishers of Parents Magazine, featuring stories and advice as well as comics. A profile of baseball legend Babe Ruth; Tugboat captain Dig Bailey pursues kidnappers on the open water; On the first mission to Saturn, "Bigbrain Billy" encounters strange aliens with bubble-like weapons. Boys' Hero of the Month: Babe Ruth; Tex Granger; Hector; Trail of Fear; Coachs Corner; Dig Bailey: Tugboat Rescue; The Adventures of Bigbrain Billy. Final issue under this title; the series continued as Tex Granger (1948). 32 pages, Full Color. Cover price $0.10.